Spain wins European basketball crown –

Photo Photo 3

The Spanish national team has changed completely since the 2019 victory. World Championships, but the results of the European Championships are the same – gold medals. Photo by EPA-Elta.

With the brothers Pau and Marc Gasol and Sergio Rodriguez absent, Ricky Rubio is out with an injury and the further loss to the Spanish champions continues as they did in 2019. In the World Championships – win a gold medal.

The final for Spain is easier than in the last 16, where they beat the national team Lithuania 102: 94 only after overtime. The semi-finals were also tough – S.Skariol’s side beat hosts Germany 96: 91 in that as France easily warmed up by crushing Paul 95:54. However, Spain dominated the final. They immediately jumped out to take an 18-7 lead and lead by 21 points in the second half. Although France reduced the deficit by one point in the third quarter, the Spaniard ran another goal to secure a 13-point lead and was not seriously threatened after that.

“Before the championship, we were only eighth in the group stage, but we reached the top. There are great teams behind us, including the last French rivals, represented by many basketball players and top stars. European championships generally have very high standards. It’s great to see us lead such a strong team in the final. It was a wonderful journey.

I’m glad we played good basketball based on unselfishness and human values. We are strong both offensively and defensively. Due to team defeats, it can happen that we play defensive basketball ineffectively, but it does not happen, we share the ball, make a lot of assists and be patient when we need to. S. Skariolo praises his national team
Before this match, Spain won the European Championship in 2009, 2011 and 2015. In all three cases, it was coached by S. Skariolas and the team included striker Rudy Fernandez. They won the gold medal for the fourth time. In European basketball, there is only one coach and one player who has collected more trophies than anyone. S. Skariolas leads Aleksandra Gomelskis, R. Fernandes – Genadijus Volnov. Representing the UPR national team, they have won the European Championship six times each.

In the list of winning national teams, Spain divided 3-4 places with Lithuania, both teams won the continental championship three times . Now the Spaniards have overtaken our basketball players and can even say that they have the most titles because there are only two countries that no longer exist above. 14-time European champions Yugoslavia have won eight times.

The achievements of Spanish basketball in general this summer are amazing. Ten national teams competed in the European Championships of different age groups and they all reached the finals. Spanish men, 18- and 20-year-old boys and 20-year-old girls became champions.

Juancho Hernangomez (Juancho Hernangomez), who scored 7 out of 9 points and 27 points, was recognized as the most valuable player of the finals. And the most important prize – the most useful basketball player of the championship – went to his brother Willy Hernangomez (Willy Hernangomez). The champion center forward scored 17.2 points and 6.9 rebounds. By the way, last season Vilis was twice Jonas Valančiūnas in the NBA New Orleans Pelicans.

Along with V. Ernangomes, natural American of Spain, Lorenz Braun (Lorenzo Brown, 15.2 points, 7.6 rebounds), Germany captain Dennis Schroder (Dennis Schroder, 22 points, 7.1 rez.), Greek striker. Janis Adetokumbas (29.3 points, 8.8 rebounds per game) and Frenchman Rudy Gobert (Rudy Gobert, 12.8 points, 9.8 rebounds per game).

“We deserve a gold medal because of the way we grow and improve throughout the tournament. Mutual trust in the locker room is special. I am proud and happy to be among these men. I thank them that I am part of such a group. ”V. Ernangomes rejoiced.

French coach Vincent Collet admits his opponents deserve more gold: “They played well. Perfect. The Spaniards did most of what they planned to do on both sides of the pitch. We lost our gold medal. We knew our weakness was a mistake, but our opponents scored 35 points in the final after our mistake. We only scored 7 points after their error. We survived the round of 16 against Turkey and the quarter-finals against Italy, but Spain did not allow it. There is no mistake.

The bronze medal was won by the Germans, who defeated Paul 82:69 in the final. Germany have won the European Championship for the first time since 2005. She won the money that year.



Spain – France 88:6 (23:14, 24:23, 19:20, 22:19)

Spain: Juančas Hernangomes 27 (7/9 three points), Lorenz Braun 14 (11 assists), Vilis Hernangomes 14, Chaimė Fernandes 13, Albert Dias 8 …

France: Evan Fournjë 23, Tomas Eurtelis 16 (7 assists), Geršonas Jabuselė 13, Elis Okobo 9, Rudis Goberas 6 …

Small finals

Germany – Poland 82:69 (19:14, 17: 9, 18:26, 28:20)

Germany: Denis Schrioder 26 (8 errors), Johannes Foitman 14, Daniel Tais 9, Andreas Obst 9, Franz Wagner 8 …

Poland: Michalas Sokolovskis 18, Jakubas Garbačas 12 (4/4 three points), Ei Dže Sloteris 10 (10 assists), Mateushas Ponitka 9, Aleksanderis Dzieva 8 …

Team organization

1. Spain
2. France
3. Germany
4. Poland
5. Greece
6. Slovenia
7. Finland
8. Italy
9. Serbia
10. Turkey
11. Ukraine
12. Croatia
13. Montenegro
14. Belgium
15. Lithuania
16. Czech Republic
17. Israel
18. Bosnia and Herzegovina
19. Estonia
20. Bulgaria
21. Sakartvel
22. The Netherlands
23. Hungary
24. United Kingdom

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *